Triangle of Sadness

A sharply satirical comedy about social roles and the intoxicating strength of power that leaves no passenger dry.

Triangle of Sadness
Sweden, France, United Kingdom, Germany 2022
  • Czech
149 min.
  • This film is available until 20. 5. 2031 in these territories: Czechia, Slovakia.

Five years after The Square, a caustic critique from the world of modern art, Ruben Östlund took away his second Palme d’Or from Cannes, along with a reputation as the filmmaker behind the wittiest film of this year’s competition. The tale of the young couple Carl and Yaya begins in the world of modelling, then we move to a luxury cruise ship. The super-rich are a rewarding target, while a satire which treats them in an artful manner is all the rarer. “I sell shit,” shouts one of the eccentric passengers, a jovial Russian oligarch, who made his fortune shifting fertiliser. Will the fierce storm which tosses the waves and the contents of their bloated stomachs liberate the moneyed passengers from the futility of their lives? Or will Östlund’s cha­racters again behave like animals even in this extreme situation?

Read more
Director: Ruben Östlund
Screenplay: Ruben Östlund
Cinematography: Fredrik Wenzel
Editing: Mikel Cee Karlsson, Ruben Östlund
Production Design: Josefin Åsberg
Producer: Erik Hemmendorff, Philippe Bober
Production Company: A Plattform Produktion
Co-production: Julio Chavezmontes, Mike Goodridge, Faruk Guven, Per Damgaard Hansen, Giorgos Karnavas, Konstantinos Kontovrakis, Marina Perales Marhuenda, Olivier Père
Cast: Harris Dickinson, Charlbi Dean, Zlatko Burić, Woody Harrelson, Dolly De Leon, Vicki Berlin, Henrik Dorsin, Iris Berben

Cannes Film Festival

2022 – Ruben Östlund (Palme d'Or)

European Film Awards

2022 – Erik Hemmendorff, Philippe Bober, Ruben Östlund (European Film)

European Film Awards

2022 – Ruben Östlund (European Director)

European Film Awards

2022 – Zlatko Burić (European Actor)

European Film Awards

2022 – Ruben Östlund (European Screenwriter)

  • This film is available until 20. 5. 2031 in these territories: Czechia, Slovakia.